The Successor and Other Odd Stories

See more by Carlos Rubio

Available at Select Retailers

About the author

Carlos Rubio

CARLOS RUBIO was born in Cuba and came to the United States while still an adolescent. After finishing high school, he attended Concord College, West Virginia University and the University of Maryland.

A bilingual novelist, in Spanish he has written Saga, Orisha and Hubris. In 1989 his novel Quadrivium received the Nuevo León International Prize for Novels. In English he is the the author of Orpheus’s Blues, Secret Memories and American Triptych, a trilogy of satirical novels. In 2004 his novel Dead Time received Foreword’s Magazine Book of the Year Award. His novel Forgotten Objects was published by Editions Dedicaces in 2014 and was a finalist in the Readers Choice Awards in 2015. More recently, his novel Doble Filo was a finalist in the 2018 Reinaldo Arenas International Prize for Novels and published in 2019 by Ediciones Alféizar in Spain.