No God for a Warrior

See more by Jan Turk Petrie

Available at Select Retailers

About the author

Jan Turk Petrie

Before becoming a writer, Jan Turk Petrie taught English in inner city London schools. She now lives in the beautiful Cotswolds area of southern England. (U.K.) Jan has an M.A. in Creative Writing (University of Gloucestershire) and, as well as her six published novels, she has written numerous, prize-winning short stories. 

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Jan is especially proud of the three volumes that make up The Eldísvík Trilogy - Nordic noir thrillers set around fifty years in the future. 
​​​​Vol 1Until the Ice Cracks. The action takes place in 2068 in Eldísvík - a Scandinavian city where, following the mass killing of their associates, the rule of law comes under increasing threat from the criminal cartels that control the badlands surrounding weathier parts of the city. The story continues in Vol 2No God for a Warrior  and comes to a dramatic conclusion in Vol 3Within Each Other's Shadow.

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Writing in a completely different genre, Jan's fourth novel - ‘Too Many Heroes’ – is a period romantic thriller set in the early 1950s – a story of an illicit love affair that angers the mobsters controlling London’s East End.
Her fifth novel: ‘Towards the Vanishing Point’ is also set primarily in the 1950s and depicts an enduring friendship between two women that is put to the test when one of them falls under the spell of a sinister charmer.  
‘The Truth in a Lie’ is Jan’s latest novel. Uniquely, it has a contemporary setting and is about the difficult relationship between a woman and her mother and daughter as well as the men in her life.