Brides of Rome: A Novel of the Vestal Virgins

See more by Debra May Macleod

Available at Select Retailers

About the author

Debra May Macleod

Debra May Macleod is an author of action-packed, intelligent historical fiction featuring the Vestal Virgins of ancient Rome. Her novels dramatize major legendary and historical events while simultaneously bringing ancient Rome to life with engrossing, visceral storylines played out by a striking cast of characters.

Her trilogy The First Vestals of Rome is set in the 8th century BCE and dramatizes the legendary lives of the founding Vestal Virgins of ancient Rome.

​​​​​​​Her trilogy The Vesta Shadows takes place from 45 BCE to 14 CE and follows the life of the Vestal priestess Pomponia Occia, who is inspired by the real Vestal Occia who lived during this time—the years that saw the fall of the Republic and the rise of the Empire, and beyond.
Debra has a Bachelor of Arts in English and a Juris Doctor. She welcomes readers to visit her website at