The Shaman's Secret

See more by Karen Hughes

Available at Select Retailers

About the author

Karen Hughes

Karen Hughes is the author of the Kalika Magic series for children aged 9+, exploring themes of courage, resilience and the power of the imagination. Karen grew up on a cattle station on the Liverpool Plains, where she spent her childhood climbing trees, riding horses and reading magical books. She attended a primary school with only 6 pupils, before being packed off to boarding school at age 12. Karen has been a lawyer, a herbalist and a web designer, but being a storyteller is her favourite job. She now lives in the Hunter Valley.

#1 'Emerald Child' explores earth magic and the power of the four elements - earth, water, air and fire. 
#2 'The Shaman's Secret' is a quest into the mountains in search of a mysterious shaman. 
#3 'The Sorrow of the Waters' is a thrilling journey, with the spirits of the water grieving over the destruction of the land. 
#4, 'The Howling Sands' is an exhilarating adventure, where the children encounter wind spirits, sand ghosts and shadow animals, and learn more about themselves and their magical world.